Smart kids baseball blog

Championship Game


In our league we got finally to the championship game with a 9-2 record. We would be facing a team we recently lost to. I was going to split the innings with my bro because he has pitched well lately.

So in the first 2 innings I kept them hit-less, and we scored 6 runs! Don’t think blowout yet. In the 3rd they scored 2 runs and we didn’t plate a runner. In the 4th, my brother was still in, he walked about 4 batters, and they had a giant hit, which the runner touched home on, but was out when our coaches saw him missing the bag at 3rd base. So that inning finally ended with them scoring 5 runs, taking the lead 7-6. In the bottom half, we scored 2 runs on 2 hits and 2 stolen bases (not on purpose), taking a 1 run lead into the 5th(we play 6 innings). They scored 1 run on a bases-loaded walk, tieing the game back up, but soon I got out of the inning. In the bottom of the 5th, number 1 hitter walked, then I was up. I took my practice swings, and when I was up we took the lead on a massive triple by me. It was hit almost to the warning track, between the outfielders. We went on to score 2 more, taking an 11-8 lead.

In the last inning they came up for the comeback. My brother started the inning, but was taken out after a strikeout a walk that he allowed. (Skip 1 out). There are runners on first and third, 2 outs, 2 strikes 11-10. The pressures on me. Windup,  a want a good sinking 2-seam fastball, pitch, he swings at a low and outside pitch. We won it! I jump it my catcher’s arms (he made sure to take off his helmet, we had an incident with that in Game 1) he catches me and we all celebrate. My friends came over and sprayed confetti, we got our pictures taken, and at the barbecue/all star game we all got a trophy and I was named MVP!!!!!!!!!!

It was nice covering this season, (even though I missed a few) but I will continue writing. We are flying to Italy tomorrow and I would love to write about that and next season.

Zev

 

4 responses

  1. Tiby Lapkin

    Now this game was truly a championship one! I’m so sorry it wasn’t video taped. This level of playing will turn me into a fan. Super! I hope you’ll have the same success in Italy.

    July 2, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    • We won in second place

      On Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 3:24 AM, age10fanatics

      July 8, 2013 at 11:18 am

  2. Dara munoz

    Italy? MVP? Wow! That is so exciting!!! For how long are you going to Italy?? Who is going from the family? Congratulations to you and the whole team!

    July 2, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    • Yeah we just got home yesterday, with a big second place trophy, after losing the championship game 7-6.

      July 9, 2013 at 3:21 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.