Smart kids baseball blog

AL ROY Mistake


Jeremy Hellickson won the Jackie Robinson AL Rookie of the year, yesterday. He got 17 out of 28 first place votes. Mark Trumbo came in second with 5 first place votes. Eric Hosmer came in third with 4 first place votes,and last but not least Ivan Nova came in fourth with 1 first place vote.

To my understanding, I believe that it was a terrible choice to pick Hellickson. Here would be my order:Mark Trumbo,Ivan Nova, then Jeremy Hellickson, and last Eric Hosmer.

Let’s see who was the better pitcher: Hellickson ERA 2.95 W-L 13-10 Strikeouts 117.

Ivan Nova: ERA 3.70 W-L 16-4 Strikeouts 98.

But now remember, who had 14 straight regular season wins? Ivan Nova would have probably had at least 20 wins if he didn’t get sent down.

So I think Nova is better.

3 responses

  1. I Wonder What Would Have Happened Had Nova Played For ANYONE But The NYY.
    Since Nova was on My Fantasy Baseball Team ALL SEASON, I Can Tell You What Would Have Likely Happened…
    …He Wouldn’t Have Even Been on the ROTY Ballot.

    Nova is a fine young pitcher, sure.
    Can’t be denied, so I won’t even try.

    BUT, would he have even been considered for ROTY had he played ANYWHERE ELSE in the ole MLB?
    Nope.
    Not at all.
    In fact, I doubt anyone would even know who is at all.

    I Would Have Taken HOSMER for ROTY, actually.
    A Better Player all around, who simply had the misfortune of playing for a team that is a perpetual loser.

    Hosmer DOES, however, Remain My #2 Position-Player-Keeper heading into the 2012 Fantasy Season.

    November 27, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    • I wonder what would happen if hee wasn’t sent to the minors?

      November 28, 2011 at 10:53 am

  2. Tiby Eilen

    I am so impressed with your defense of Nova.

    November 16, 2011 at 1:38 am

Leave a Reply

